Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Broken Tower (WIP) Need help with planning the UV tilling layout!

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
sepxhan vertex
Hello everyone, 

I am a newbie here, recently working on school project which is making a cinematic for game. My task is making a broken tower, it is my first time to work with game environment so quite confuse.

Right now I am in unwrapping stage and  feeling struggle to gather all the texture in one map. I searched many methods online, but still really confuse.

Here is the looking of my model and messing unwrap uv now, still in progress and I feel kind of annoying. I am using 3ds Max 2016, gonna import it to unity in the future.

I saw the texture map online, seems using tilling textures a lot and their layout is so clean. I am wondering how to do that, basically what is the unwrap layout method,  Is anyone can help or recommend some tutorial or reference link?

Here are the examples of what I saw.

Thanks for any help and looking forward to your reply!
Han 

Replies

• Carabiner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Carabiner greentooth
    You can use more than one material on a model -- you just need to assign different materials in your 3D modeling program, and then create different materials in whatever you'll use to display it (Marmoset, Unreal, etc).

I think a big thing that makes those UV layouts clean is that they use a lot of overlapping textures. For example, all of your roof tiles probably could (and should) share a texture, or you could create a few different textures and alternate them a bit. If your tiles share the same geo (eg same amount of edges/verts/faces, can be moved around though) you can easily map one out and then transfer the UVs to the others. In Maya, that tool is called Transfer Attributes but I'm not sure what it's called in 3DS.