Home General Discussion

Cover Letter Critique

Hey guys, occasional lurker turned poster here.
I'm currently trying to land my first job in games, and wringing my hands worrying about every word I write. I've gone through all the great advice in the wiki, but I'd really appreciate some direct critique on my cover letter. I know it's the portfolio that counts at the end of the day (and any feedback on that would be great too) but I think more eyeballs can always help even in this.
Thanks for your help!

http://www.gautamkolli.com/

>

To whom it may concern,

This application is in response to the opening of a concept artist position listed on the Avalanche Studios website. I would like to submit my resume and portfolio for consideration.

I am a highly motivated illustrator, with a background in traditional art as well as digital painting and modeling. My education in animation and, entertainment design has trained me in a range of skills that I believe can benefit the already excellent team at Avalanche. I have a practiced knowledge of anatomy, composition, perspective, lighting and color theory. Studying hand-drawn animation in England, not only did I gain a strong understanding of the fundamentals of design, but also the opportunity to work together with teams of talented artists from diverse backgrounds and nationalities. I learned how to take a pitch through a production pipeline, take feedback from the director to align my vision with his, and enhance it with my own ideas. On my final year film, I led the junior animators on the project and supported them so that they could improve themselves, while making a meaningful contribution to the end product.