Home General Discussion

Environment Artist Workflow?

Hay guys, before I try to explain myself ill try to put it short as to what im trying to achieve. I am wondering what the best workflow is for an environment artist who wants to generate normal/ roughness/ diffuse/ metallic maps with a high/ low poly model of multiple assets on one UV map in Maya. I have already made low poly models and am now wondering whats the best route to go down.

I am have made a bunch of low poly environment assets such as a wooden bench, table/chairs and much more in maya, all combined onto 3 UV maps with overlapping UV's to mirror the painted textures on some parts. I am just a little bit mind boggled as to where professional environment artists go from here.  

I understand each artist will have different workflows to some degree but what would you guys say is the best workflow for an environment artist wanting to pump out assets for a game with them textures on. I am new to ZBrush and know that a lot of artists put them over into ZBrush and even start in ZBrush and then put them over into maya and make a low poly asset out of them for normal map baking. I just feel like this process would take a very long time starting from scratch in ZBrush right?

I just think that the workflow of making the low poly in maya aswell as the high poly doesn't make the asset as good as it can be, hence why i tried putting them into ZBrush and finding myself running into many exporting problems such as needing to lower down the res to bake a normal map, that just defeats the whole objective as to what i was trying to achieve. I tried exporting the high poly models.obj (from zbrush) and the one low poly models.obj (from maya) of which are on the same UV map. After that I tried baking a normal map from xnormal but It didn't look right.