Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portrait critique

Hey everyone! It would be awesome if I could get feedback/critique/suggestions for this piece I recently finished. I'm still learning, so any recommendations to material, tutorials and the like would be handy and appreciated as well!

I'll do my best to respond to any replies :)

Thanks!

f1siQmJ.png

Replies

• lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    not bad. need a bit more info n what your aiming for though. what style are you going for? what do you want to improve on? what do you want crits on? anatomy, composition, color, rendering?
  • Shade117 pro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Lotet I don't actually know what I've done to make it look alright, I suppose a stroke of luck is what happened haha. I would like to know what I can improve on, especially in composition, colour and rendering. However I'm open to anything!

I had some struggle in making it have depth, the rim lighting helped remedy that but I feel like I could do more lighting to the face (and hair actually). I can't figure out how to go about it though.
  • xeoncat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi,
    Nice shapes, they're pretty much on point. the only thing I could say is that the right eye could be more squashed and the pupil a little more hidden.
    As for color. Skin shadows are a little more red (especially the neck shadow). shadows are never black, so they usually carry the color of the surface they're projected on.
  • Shade117 pro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @xeoncat Thank you for the feedback, I tried to fix what you suggested.
    catGhDs.png?1

For squashing the eye, I wasn't sure what that meant but I tried bringing it in closer. Should the shadows be more saturated?
  • gavinli
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gavinli polycounter lvl 3
    Hi Shade117 Pro,