Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainted Textures - Harsh Critiques needed

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
OnionCake polycounter lvl 6
Hey Polycounters,

I'm trying to get some handpainted textures up to snuff, and would love some harsh critiques. I'm trying hard, but lack some skill. Hopefully I can get a push in the right direction from the ridiculous talent around here.

Here we go.

Handpainted wood:
Working at 2048x1024, then deressing to 256x512 with some editing. I think the bolts are far too small, and the boards need a bit more life (wear/tear).

2048:
tilingWood_2048.jpg
512:
tilingWood_512.jpg
512 Tiled 4x:
tilingWood_512_4wayTiled.jpg

Replies

• KristaW
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KristaW polycounter lvl 9
    Hey OnionCake!
    I am a sucker for hand painted textures and I think up close it looks great. I don't have any harsh critique because I am a beginner myself but I can point out what I noticed right away and that is that the texture does not successfully tile vertically. If this wood was being used for bridges or a walk way, where you would only tile it horizontally, then it would work pretty well. But if you did want to tile it vertically then you run into this weird look happening where there is a line running horizontally. I quickly adjusted your texture to show how it might tile both horizontal and vertical. My adjustment tiles pretty horribly but hopefully it shows you a direction to head in to get it tiling both directions if you want. Personally though I think there is nothing wrong with having a wood walk way texture that just tiles horizontally :)

example01.jpg

And here is how it would tile vertically and horizontally.

example02p.jpg

I look forward to more of your handpainted textures :D
  • OnionCake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply!