Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] -Branden Brushett, Environment Artist

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
GOBEE polycounter lvl 10
Hey Polycounters!

It's been a few years since I posted anything on here. I've been pretty busy and have not been modeling as much as I'd like. I finally did a little update on my portfolio and wanted to get some comments/critiques. (I'm not thrilled with the layout) I currently work as a tester at Microsoft Game Studios and I'm trying to plan ahead for future employment, hopefully as an artist at a local game studio. (WA or BC)

All the work you see on the site is created in Maya, Photoshop and some things in ZBrush. I have the Unreal Engine 3 and thought about importing some of my work in there but I have only watched a couple of tutorials from the DVD's. Would it be worth my time to show some of my future work, in the Unreal Engine? I'm seeing a lot of work posted here lately using UDK. What's that all about?

Also, when you visit my site, my oldest work (from school back in 2007) is at the bottom of the page. Should that even be on my site anymore? Or do you feel even though it's old work, it's still strong enough to be shown? I'm curious.. I feel like I have an emotional attachment to those scenes because I enjoyed my experience in school so much so they're hard to let go. But if they suck, they suck and I'll get rid of 'em.

Enough blabbering.. check it out and tell me what you think!

4807166795_f05bf1db1a_b.jpg

Replies

• BrendtheCow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BrendtheCow polycounter lvl 8
    The scene itself doesn't feel like it needs trashing entirely. Here are a few things that stand out to me about the image imbedded in the post:

- The tree needs reworking or replacing. It feels flat and rushed compared to the rest of the scene.