Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Whats your Character workflow?

Hi all!

So i will be starting a character project for school next week. I am very new to character modelling ( i prefer props/environment) and i wanted to get some advice from the community on the workflow i should be aiming for.

I will be creating a military solider guy with armour similar to that in district 9. (Not to advanced but a little better then todays armour)

http://en.9jcg.com/comm_pages/blog_content-art-180.htm

This looked fairly good, but i am not sure if there are a lot of different workflows out there or if there is one 'recommended' workflow

From that link there ive basically got this
1. Create base human mesh
2. Sculpt base human mesh
3. Create addons/clothes
4. Place addons/clothes over the character model
5. Take into sculpting program of choice and sculpt away details
6. Re-topologize (never done this before)
7. Textures, normals etc

So i have a question.
Sculpting the base mesh before adding clothes etc seems like a waste of time if the character is fully clothed/ Armoured. I can understand a little bit for definition under the clothes but is this recommended?

Any tips would be appreciated, i want to make sure i have a good idea of the process before i start on monday. Thanks!

Replies

• Chimp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chimp interpolator
    mine is:
    1. concept
    2. zsphere base
    3. sculpt naked char
    4. sculpt clothes
    5. either sculpt or box model add-ons
    6. retopologise all
    7. fix, uv and bake
    8. texture.
  • ericdigital
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ericdigital polycounter lvl 13
    You don't need full definition but its smart to spend some time on the base and make sure the proportions are correct and make sense. Too often people rush into armor/clothing etc and end up really falling short on the anatomy of the figure.
  • Darkleopard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply :)