Home Technical Talk

Already know Maya, should I learn Max as well?

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
Hey everyone.

I've got a question about which 3D programs to learn. I've been using Maya for years. I'm no expert, but I'm fairly confident in it.

I applied for an internship at a nearby studio; however, they mostly use Max. I've used Max for like 10 minutes in the past; I'm a total noob with it. The studio didn't seem too fussed when I told them that, but I was.

Would it be worth it to start learning Max as well as using Maya? I don't really want to switch totally over, I just want to ensure that it doesn't cost me a job or something in the future.

Do many of you guys do this? Use more than one 3D program?

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    it will cause a bit of rage, with max's rubbish controls for navigation and selection, but i think it is worth knowing the ins and outs of both applications, since when looking for work you could end up at a max or a maya studio.

the curve wont be that steep since you already understand the core concepts of modeling, and knowing both will allow you to try different workflows, since max's modifer stack can be quite powerfull at times and allow thigns not possible in maya.
  • Rabbid_Cheeze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You'll need to learn it eventually sense Maya and Max are the two most popular modeling apps in the industry, so why not do it on your own time and at your own pace instead of waiting to be forced to learn it?

If you can get used to Maxs modifier stack replacing Mayas History, and a lack of marking menus, you'll be fine.
  • Tenchi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Definately worth learning Max if you get the internship, it'll look good you wanting to learn their workflow. Studios usually modify Maya or Max to suit their pipeline so you'll always be learning some new program anyway.