Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Roman Street

ABinhoF
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ABinhoF polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys,

This is my first post here :) A quick bit of background: I did a BA in Games design, but then recently decided I'd like to do Archaeology, as that's always been my other passion - Long story short, I finished my archaeology degree, and there are few jobs in either field :poly124: So I'm trying to update my games art portfolio.

Problem is, I haven't don't any 3D in nearly two years, so I'm pretty rusty and out of touch with current techniques. A few months ago I tried my hand at making some Roman streets, but I'm not happy at all with the result (viewable here).

I've recently been scoping these forums and the wiki, and I want to try my hand at a Roman street scene again. My goal is to try out all the things I don't know how to do, as well as improve the archaeological accuracy of the original scene (My field was Roman military architecture, not private housing). I'm hoping you guys can help me out, and give some critiques!

My Three Big Problem Areas are:

Texture sculpting -
Did some Zbrush in school but haven't touched it in three years! Got my hands on a copy of mudbox now though.

UDK Materials/Shaders - As hinted in the title, my ultimate goal is to get this in to the UDK. I want some experience making more complex shaders though.

Lighting -
It's an area I've always neglected, and it always lets my scenes down.

Project Brief: