Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[DS2] Axe, Spunky

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Spunky polycounter lvl 11
Quick sketch I did while watching Bobo do his scythe. I'm not much of a drawer but thought this would be a good project for me to work on.

axehead.jpg

Replies

• Spunky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Scraped my demon axe, it was too dinky.

Drew up a Maker Axe I'm going to do instead. Still need to think of an interesting handle.
    3duex.jpg
  • Spunky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The blades for this axe are stone, so they are going to wear down and break a lot. That is why I went with the big bolts to give the idea that whoever uses this axe is able to swap out the blades by just undoing the bolts. I added scratches all over the bolts to tell that they have been used a lot (these aren't game play ideas, just trying a tell a story through the details of the wep:P)

I'm pretty new at zbrush so I'm still learning a lot...I also have a Intuos4 on the way I just ordered so hopefully that will make stuff easier :]

dCaB4.jpg
  • Spunky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Version 2...I got my tablet the other day. Trying to make the blade look very fragile and worn, again, to convey the idea that these blades are being swapped out on the go as the break.

Still getting use to my tablet...and I'm pretty new to zbrush so any comments or critique would help a ton.

http://imgur.com/a/kWcg8#7AcEw
  • OriginLinear
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks really dull, not sharp. Like if you were hit with it, it is more likely to break bones, more so than skin and flesh.

I think perhaps the blade could also be a bit thicker. The large nick at the business end could probably be smaller, and maybe a couple more nicks and more obvious cracks in it.
  • tonysladky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message