Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

{Practice} Sci-fi Space station

Hey guys. This is the first project i am posting on poly count. I'm currently in my second year of collage, so still a newbie compared to so many people here. This is a project that 5 of us are working on, i will post my sections. I am doing the corridors and main hub area and there is an elevator leading down to other sections.

I welcome crits and advice, i am pretty new to texturing and still working on my art skills so please keep this in mind.

*nervous gulp*

Hallway connecting to the hub (there is a room coming off the side on the left hence the double pillars that look a bit off.)
Hallway2.jpg

Hallyway Connecting to other rooms with view of space
Hallway.jpg

Floor Texture (WIP)
FloorTexture.jpg

Replies

• Jhill8
    Looks like a good block out so far and the floor texture looks awesome maybe a little tweaking to be done on the normals to give it a nice pop. If you are putting this into udk. Use a cube map as it will help dampen the modularity of the scene. I am no expert but that is what I know from being crit'ed here before. Already subbed this wanna see how it turns out! :)
  • Darkleopard
    Thanks so much! This is not going into UDK, we are using gamebryo because thats what we are using at school at the moment. Im not even sure what a cube map is yet hehe.

Any suggestions on making the floors 'pop'. I am using Ndo at the moment and i cant get the depth any deeper then it already is. I might try some better shading in those areas. I also think the angle is throwing the depth off a little, i'll submit a better pic when i get home from work.

Thanks again. You have no idea how excited i am to have a sub :P
  • Jhill8