Home Technical Talk

Animating long scenes

admin
Offline / Send Message
System admin
Hey guys,

As an aspiring animator, I'm still learning a hell of a lot every day, but one thing thing that has puzzled me is how to approach the animation of characters in longer shots or scenes?

What I mean is, up until now, I've primarily practised with cyclic animation, bouncing balls, and very short shots, so everything is blocked in and then progressively animated.

What I wanted to know though is let's say I wanted to animate a character starting from standing, running along, then into a jump, then walking a bit, into a climb, etc etc. Or even just walking along, stopping to talk, then walking off again, how would you animate this kind of sequence? Do you copy/paste the cyclic parts like the run, or do you block it all out as one progressive shot, or is there another way?

I know it's a bit of an elementary question but I feel I should move on from cycles at some point and I'm not sure how this is done.

Also, does anyone have any good books/tutorials/training that covers the concepts explained above?

Replies

• Denny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Denny polycounter lvl 14
    My approach would be to make a storyboard, either drawn or in your 3d software where you plan out pacing and camera angles. After that you start blocking out the key poses and timings. Try doing it with stepped tangents, it sometimes helps not being distracted by weird interpolations. Take this time to grab your camera and record suiting references as well.