Home General Discussion

Newbie seeking advice on freelance job offer

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
J0NNYquid polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys, I've got a question for some of the more veteran of you on the forums. I currently work full-time as a 3D Modeler/Texture artist, and I have just been offered the same position, but via satellite. The satellite position would not be full time and it is it at a start-up game company.

I have no intention of leaving my current job. I want your guys advice/tips as far as how I should discuss pay, deadline expectancy, amount of work/time spent on said work. I don't want to get into a situation where I get off of work, only to come home and work all night as well. I see this as an excellent opportunity to really pad my resume, especially since I am just starting out in my career. I just want to make sure the cost isn't too high.

I've never worked via satellite either, so any insight on how that would work would be greatly appreciated as far as time commitment, how the pay system works, etc., etc.

I would really love to do both, and I would like to hear your input/advice as to how I should approach this. Thank you.

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm going to assume that your full-time job and freelance offering are at different companies. In that case make sure your contract allows for you to be able to work for both. Many companies forbid employees from doing freelance work at all, some are more lax.

Make sure you can handle all the extra work. Don't bite off more than you can chew.

Honestly unless you need the money, I'd say just work on your portfolio while not at work rather than trying to do more work at home. Seems like a sure way to burn out really fast.
  • Tigerfeet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message