Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Vivek Choudry 3D enviro art

vchoud.deviantart.com/gallery/
hey all thats a link to some screenshots of some environments i made. They are all done with maya only. I am a student and will be applying for internships. I was curious what you guys think and if this stuff is good enough that i should be hoping to get something or am i way behind with my work. im a bit nervous honestly. Critical feedback would be great as well. Working on a couple of character animation demo reels at the moment should be done in a couple of days. Thanks all.

Replies

• Seirei
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm probably not the best to give critics since I'm fairly new aswell and my portfolio isn't realy filled with cool stuff, but I have to say that most of these pics remind me of the first Myst game and I'm not sure if this should be considered to be a good thing.
    Mainly I have to ask, what are you going for? Because if you go for realtime environment like in games I guess nothing of these will work for anything. It all looks pretty dull and empty. And from what I can see it looks like you just smashed some standard materials on it and played with some of the settings.
    So yeah my suggestion would be, decide on what you want to do. And start a project to realize something that realy shows off your skills! Just take a look around these forums and you'll see many many awesome stuff from new and more experienced people. But that's just me, you should probably wait to see what some of the 'good' guys have to say, but I'm not sure if it would be any better news, hopefully some good advices though. :)
  • MaVCArt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MaVCArt polycounter lvl 8