Home General Discussion

Compensation for crunch in the games industry?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
MiAlx polycounter lvl 10
Hey guys!

Since you Polycounters always gave me good advice and helped me out many times before (for which i am very grateful), I wanted to share my situation with you and ask you for your opinion.

So heres a background summary for clarity:

I'm a junior 3D animator at a small company for almost a year now (almost as long as the company exists). I am the only full time employed animator there.
The project I am working on is planned to be presented in about a month, so the game must be as close to completion as possible until that deadline.

Since the 2nd of Jannuary the crunching phase has been announced and we are working an average of 10 to 11 hours a day and 6 (for some 7) days a week.

The crunch phase is planned for Jannuary but it probably will extend until the end of February as well, because a trailer is to be made for that game.

The compensation for this crunch period is 2 days off.

So I want to know if this kind of compensation is a industry standard and i should get used to that fact or is this an exception?

Need I grow a pair and accept it or is this an exception of rules? :D

thanks for your help in advance

Replies

• JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    That's the difference between great management and poor management.

A great manager will make you WANT to work to achieve all the goals without cutting back on everything, regardless of compensation. They will be completely transparent about what they wished they could have, but what they think they can realistically deliver.... and if they can get YOU on board, you'll bear down and do it... getting it to the highest level of quality you possibly can, regardless of the deadline.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc"]RSA Animate - Drive: The surprising truth about what motivates us - YouTube[/ame]