Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Blizz Enviro Submission - Wintery Cultist's Camp

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
sybrix polycounter lvl 13
Hey all, I finally got some time after the busy holiday season to get cracking on my Blizzard environment contest submission. I'm just about to start texturing. I'm a noob to painted texturing, trying to improve!

It will be a small camp site of a practitioner of some sort of cultish magic. I'm going with a wintry scene. I'm trying to keep props to a minimum due to time constraints.

I'm going for a voodoo/tribal vibe. I'm thinking about tweaking the little shrine, maybe put a gruesome offering on the table instead of what was going to be an incantation written in blood.

Thanks for looking, I would appreciate any feedback you're willing to share. :)

udk_02.jpg

udk_01.jpg

Here's a wireframe. The triangle shaped blockmesh is a placeholder for a glowing rune design that will encompass the shrine.

wireframes.jpg

shrine_closeup.jpg

Replies

• Tomm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's still very early to critize, but few things that I noticed is both the texture and geometry of the trees.. they dont fit the blizz style.
    And maybe it's just me, but the candles could be optimized a lot more.

oh and why would someone put candles outside in the winter? :)

other than that it's looking good.
  • sybrix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Good point Tomm. I took a look at some Blizz trees and decided to thicken up the trunks and make everything more angular. And you're right the candles don't make much sense so they're going to go away soon. :} I redid the bark texture and scaled it up a bit. I also rearranged some things, it was feeling kinda empty.