Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New to the Forum and new to the Industry, here's some stuff!

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
KartoonHead polycounter lvl 4
Hi all,

My name's Martin and I'm a BSc undergraduate studying Sound Recording at Glyndwr University, Wales. Over the latest summer break I discovered that I have a little bit of a passion for game art! I've been teaching myself to model in Maya, how to texture in Photoshop, how to work with shaders in UDK and have also picked up a few handy bits of kit along the way to smooth the pipeline (Marmoset Toolbag, CrazyBump and xNormal are awesome!) I also have a copy of ZBrush and a whopping great tome of a book on how to use it, but I haven't yet used either of those in any meaningful capacity. I'll get round to it though!

Since I haven't been at it for very long I don't have much to show for my efforts, most of my earlier creations (a few months ago) were terrible, but they helped me alot in bolstering my understanding of the modelling process (learning how to layout UVs effectively probably took the longest, but when it clicks, it clicks).

Here are a couple of my more recent modelling efforts (rendered in Marmoset Toolbag), comments and critique are very welcome!

Shipping container,
Container_01_Marmoset_Render.jpg

M3 'Grease Gun'
Grease_Gun_01_Marmoset_Render.jpg

Let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading,

Martin.

Replies

• KartoonHead
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not even a 'welcome'? :poly134:
  • Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
  • Randalph_The_Black