Home Unreal Engine

Noob lighting problem

Hey PC, I'm having some issues with my modular scene having some really bad seam issues. I'm honestly not sure what is causing it and I'm not a pro at UDK, so I'm hoping you guys can help.

irUBvIrII7jJt.jpg

The modular pieces seem to be tiling just fine in max, but when I get them in UDK, the lighting or something is chewing up the seams and making weird shadows along the edges.

Any pointers? Thanks!

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Those are lightmap seams. You need to check how you have the second UV channel laid out.
  • Jessica Dinh
  • AtlusZMH
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the link! I guess I thought I knew how.. I'll go back and follow that tutorial tomorrow and see how it turns out!
  • Leodido
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Keep us posted, I'll probably run into the same issue very soon ;)
    Thanks for those tuts Jessica, they are very nice and there's lots of them
  • AtlusZMH
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So I just went through and remade all my layouts for the lightmaps. It seems to have diminished the problem, but hasn't eliminated it entirely.

Here's a shot of what it looks like currently, with the edited UVs

ibzJsoCtrf1EN9.jpg

I've found a few threads about similar issues that I'm going through now, I'll keep this updated!

Any other advice would be appreciated! thanks!
  • Adam L. Gray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hmm, this is a problem with the lightmap mipmapping I believe. Thing is, if you decrease the size of the shell, in order to get some room for padding, then it's still going to bleed in on the edges, as the shadows will be baked to that smaller area. There might be a way to control the padding for lightmaps, though I never looked at it myself.

So, there is a way to get rid of it, though I wouldn't recommend it;