Home Technical Talk

Baking Issue

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Wesley polycounter lvl 13
Feel a bit of noob here, and also kind of embarrassed to be contributing to the huge amount of baking threads that sit on Polycount.

I spent a good day or so reading up as much as I could about normal mapping and procedures that are used. And tonight I tried baking down a high-poly gun I've been making.

First off I did a simple bake without exploding, using rough settings just to make sure things were going in the right direction. Here's a snippet of what I got:

bake01.JPG

So then I exploded the model, used a custom cage (just the same model with a push and straightened up a little) and did another rough bake. This time it didn't go so well:

bake02.JPG

Now clearly something is going wrong with the way I've set out my UVs. Basically the whole model is only being mapped on one side with the other UVs sitting outside the main "box" by an offset of 1.

bakeProblem01.JPG

But what I don't understand is that nothing changed between bakes apart from exploding the model:

bakeProblem02.JPG

I'm using XoliulShader 2, non-Nitrous and have added that funky qualified line into Max .ini if anyone is wondering.

So like I said before, it's looks like it's something to do with the UVs being flipped? But I don't understand why it's a problem now I've exploded the model and not before? Also surely having flipped UVs is fine because that's how loads of models are done anyway?

I'm quite confused.

Replies

• throttlekitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks like a flipped green channel?
  • Wesley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Flipping/unflipping green channel on the XoliulShader doesn't resolve it.
  • Wesley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh! This is interesting. I've just been testing the exploded bakes by themselves, without combining them in Photoshop, and they seem to be okay?

I did try to normalise them in Photoshop...