Home Unreal Engine

Symmetrical UV problem UDK

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Clark Coots polycounter lvl 12
Hey, I've been using UDK for about a week so I'm a noob.

I have symmetrical UVs on my floor pieces and when I import to UDK I get this! I have 3 Floor sections all sharing one texture map (diffuse/normal/spec). Double Vent Floor, Double Stair Step Floor, and one vent one stair step (which works fine because UVs aren't symmetrical). Any ideas how I can fix the symmetrical UV problem this?

symuvproblemudk.jpg

Replies

• sprunghunt
  • Clark Coots
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks, but I've tried that exact technique already. Same problem.

things that I've tried that didn't work:
    moving the symmetrical piece 1 full U or V unit.
    overlapping UVs with AND without UVs welded at seam
    deleting half of mesh, export, import to UDK, duplicate and rotate 180 degrees.
    hard and soft edges on and around seamline in Maya

I've also read a lot of this:
    http://wiki.polycount.com/NormalMap
    but still no success.

One thing I didn't do is mirror geometry THEN bake normals. I baked with half my mesh first. But I don't understand why that would matter. Looking at my Normal map doesn't seem like anything would cause that type of shading, plus it looks fine in Maya
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Another thing you could do would be to try lining up your seam with the seam you have in the texture. So the center section wouldn't be mirrored.

Or you could just not mirror it at all.

also make sure you bake your normals with the rest of the mesh attached.
  • Clark Coots
    Options
    Offline / Send Message