Home Technical Talk

Rigging & Skinning for interchangeable meshes

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Vectroid polycounter lvl 7
Hi guys,

I have a few years of experience modeling in 3ds Max but I am now being presented with a new challenge and I'm not quite sure where to begin with it.

I have done some character modeling and rigging in the past for single characters with no customization options but this time, I have to model and rig an avatar system (male and female) with interchangeable meshes for clothing. I have never done anything like this before so I thought it would be nice to get some pointers from the pros.

So let's say I have a character in 3ds Max with everything separated in a modular fashion (head, upper clothing, bottom clothing, shoes all separated).
- Would it make my life easier if the body was fully built beneath the clothing or would you build the clothing merged with the hands for example?
- Is the best way to transfer skinning information across different clothing meshes of the same type (e.g. pants) by applying a skinning wrap modifier then converting it to skin?
- Would you transfer the male rig information to the female rig or would you treat them separately?
- When exporting, do you have to export the clothes as pieces with the bones along with it?

Sorry if these questions have been asked before, I found it surprisingly hard to find information about similar situations on google. Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vectroid wrote: »
    - Would it make my life easier if the body was fully built beneath the clothing or would you build the clothing merged with the hands for example?