Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

ArenaNet Art Test Character

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Elyaradine polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys. :) Kind of a noob here, especially at sculpting, but I thought I'd give the art test a go and, if nothing else, learn a lot in the process.

Concept:
CharacterTest2011_2-600x434.jpg

WIP:
anetwip01.jpg

Some GW reference:
GW1/GW2 proportions
Back design 1
Back design 2

The things I've been struggling with include: proportions (epic vs. real, sticking to the concept vs. what feels right), drawing/sculpting cloth, hair and fluffy bits (sculpt, or just do them as alpha planes in the low poly), and knowing how much detail to put in in terms of whether it'll show up on a 1k map. There are a couple of elements missing in the sculpt including some kind of design on the back. I'll get to them soon!

Crit/advice appreciated! :)

(But dude, it looks nothing like the guy on the right! :P )

Replies

• imijatov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's good to take an initiative like this when someone like ArenaNet provides free art tests for the taking.