Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hannibal Lecter Cell

Greetings PC, this is a scene I have been working on in my free time to start rebuiding my portfolio. I have been getting some crits from a few friends and colleagues, and decided to finally put it on here for more Crits / Feedback. As of right now, the textures for the door, chair, bed, toilet and other things inside the cell are still wip. I have always been a huge fan of the Lecter character, and want to make this as good as possible. Please tell me what you think! Thank you.
lecterPC_01copy.jpg
lecterPC_02copy.jpg
lecterPC_03copy.jpg
lecterPC_04copy.jpg

Replies

• hostilis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hostilis polycounter lvl 13
    The scene looks good but it can be improve.

I'm not an expert but here's my crits:

Some of the scales of the assets are off especially the heater and the stairs.

You can also add contrast in lighting like putting orange lights or other warm colors. (ignore this if you are modeling from reference)

The materials of the metal can be improve by adding spec maps and also put some wear and tear properties like subtle rust.

You can also add additional edges for the picture planes so that you can fold the borders.

I am once a victim of uber-photosourcing and believe me you need to add/edit some interesting stuffs in your photosource textures before using it.

I believe this is rendered inside 3ds max?
  • IxenonI
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    IxenonI interpolator
    Good start!
    hostilis mentioned some valid issues.

Other then that, the tiling on that stone texture in the cell interior is really visible, you should try to rework that.

Your lights are way to white and in general the lighting lacks atmosphere. Those lightbulbs should really have a cone underneath illuminating some dust thats in the room. Give them a warmer color. For the neon lights, use a more blueish color.

Try to make the glass reflect the environment.