Home General Discussion

Flash Molehill - Flash and 3D?

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Fomori polycounter lvl 12
OK so I work as a 3D artist in a games company that makes online Flash-based games. So most of what I produce is pre-rendered at the moment. But the flash developers here keep getting excited about this "Molehill" and telling me about it. But they're Flash programmers not artists (so a lack of understanding both ways). Well I have a mild idea what this might mean for big online Flash gaming, but still feel like it's early days. Can anyone shed light on it at all? And how well it can integrate into a purely Flash and browser based gaming platform?

Some links I've seen:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSlehUCU9gs[/ame]
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZb1huF7Np0[/ame]
http://www.flashrealtime.com/videos-3d-flash-molehill/

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well from what I understand molehill is purely flash so it should work well across any browser and hardware platform that supports flash.

It allows flash apps to access and use the GPU to do 3D related operations rather than having to fake it at a "higher" level all through software, which is slower and less efficient.

This means that as an artist you'll be able to work with higher triangle counts, possibly larger textures, maybe use pixel shaders... than you would currently without molehill (provided that you were making real-time assets rather than pre-rendered assets). You'll probably need to make real-time assets rather than pre-rendered assets.

If you were working on 2D games it would mean you could have more sprites onscreen at the same time, and hopefully pixel shaders.

Here's a recent thread over at TigSource about current options for 3D in flash with a few observations about molehill.