Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Another Handpainted Girl!

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Poribo polycounter lvl 13
I wanted to have a go at doing a hand painted character. Though I have no experience in the hand painting department. I kinda know the theory, just I don't know the technique/execution, particularly in the blending area. Maybe you guys can enlighten me in the art of hand painting textures. Sooo....this should be fun :poly142:

I don't exactly have a concept but I'm thinking of making a "school girl samurai" or something of that sort. Also low-poly, 2322 tris at the moment.

girl_silhouette_turntable_wip_by_nightflarer-d41l6pd.gif

viewc.png

The shoes are actually looking pretty terrible at the moment, so that's gotta be fixed, and I'm going to model a katana. Also nevermind the normals/shading errors, I can fix that but this is really going to be a flat lighting environment, so It shouldn't really matter.

Replies

• haikai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    The silhouette looks pretty decent so far.

I think you have too many divisions vertically and not enough horizontally on the legs. I personally wouldn't recommend collapsing the rings at the elbow/knees too. Your model isn't quite low poly enough to warrant trying to do that kind polygon saving compromise in my opinion.

Maybe her hair could use some more volume. Looks kind of flat.
  • Poribo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Hai, I know I can count on you for help haha. For the elbows and knees, I thought that it was better to not have the full ring for deforming?
    Referring to this:
    ex2.jpg

So I've added more rings to the legs, and the silhouette of the legs looks a bit smoother now. Modeled the sword and sheath, and UVed. Time to jump into painting now...for that I have no idea what I'm doing lol
    wiprf.png
  • Poribo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message