Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sea God

Zocky
greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Zocky greentooth
Well, i started with this for dominance war 5, but never really had time to come even close to finishing it.
Now, i'm trying to do just.

Right now, i'm trying to come up with some intresting concept for armour. Right now it's just base mesh (maya), later i will put it into ZB to do some sculpting.

So anyway, it's suppose to be some sort of sea god.
fish2n.th.jpg

Now, i do have one question. While i'm not really new to creating props and stuff for games (assets), i am very new to character modelling. i am doing some pracitising, anatomy study and stuff, but still, since this some fantasy creature, i wanted to give it a try.

Now, i have one question, and i'm hoping to get some feedback from you guys.

As i said, i can make quite ok models from reference, but this time, i'm trying to be atleast a bit creative and try to come up with my own design for creature. And i have problems here.

Particularly armour.

I got one comment about this pic that you can see aswell, that it' simply not realistic, too organic and stuff. Now, i'm trying to think about what the guy said, and am a bit confused.

When i started this, i wanted to create fantasy armour for it, and organic-looking. Now, i always had a feeling if i make scifi suit for example, it has to have some good logic behind it. For example, you have have..i don't know, gun that is almost as big as the whole character, it would look too big and therefor not really authentic.

But for fantasy, i always thought it's not that important that something actually looks very believable, but that it has to just fit-in the whole design of character...like, if the character is someone who is very noble, like paladins, you wouldn't expect it to have very spikey and dark, scary looking armour. It has to fit to the whole character.