Home General Discussion

Expectations of new artist

I am a little ways away from working at a studio, but my mind keeps wondering what would be the expectations of a new artist.

If I were to get a job, could I tell them what my weaknesses and strengths are? i.e. I am great at doing props with metal, wood, and plastic, but I am not up to par with making plants.

Does anybody have stories to share about when they first worked at a studio? I am especially interested in self taught environment artist. Also, if there are any tips and tricks to what I should focus on before I start a career as an environment artist at a studio?

Thanks

Replies

• RexM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking at your work from threads you've posted, you really need to push your art a lot more before you start thinking about getting into the industry.

Onto your question. It depends on what type of games the company makes, what their pre-dominant art style is (or if it changes game by game), and what platforms the game will be made on. Typically what is expected of you will be laid out pretty clearly.

However, don't expect a company to teach you things that you do not know. Even if you get a job in the industry and you have to do things you don't know how to do, you will have to learn mostly on your own. That's what I hear anyways from many in the industry.
  • Blaizer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaizer interpolator
    You just need to look and compare. We are always forced to offer the same level of quality or better.

An advice would never to tell your weakness :), sometimes it means an "instant drop". Also, try to surpass what other great env artists are showing in their portfolios.

If you have a quality work, you'll have work granted. There are too many env artists, but those showing quality in their work are only a few. Work hard all the days, reach the goal, and that's all.
  • vofff
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vofff polycounter lvl 10