Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

LowPoly - Indigo [608 tris]

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Bombshell polycounter lvl 10
Indigo, the character to represent my Game Engine The Push To Build "Indigo" Engine.
A creature I am calling an Identity, Identities will be an extending feature to the engine for peoples Gamer Profiles. Similar to an avatar from XBL.

I know its nothing amazing and the texture is fairly basic, but I'm rather happy with it.
I'm not very good at texturing, precise strokes in painting programs aren't my strong point, so I thought I'd start with something simple.

Here is the Concept:
avatar_system___identities_by_bombshell93-d3jepya.png

Here is a Turn-Table of the model:
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JPLGCyYWtE[/ame]

608 Tri's
1024x Diffuse and Glow map

EDIT:
I did a simple subdivide model (some small topo, UV and shape edits) and re-did the texture (which I kind of improvised on bits).
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FcT6Q71ycRc[/ame]

2700 tri
512x Textures (glow and diffuse)

keep in mind that the higher poly was just to see how it would look, I will be completely restarting the mesh soon to be used with a customizer, which if all goes to plan I'm hoping everyone will enjoy when done.
So to put it in a nutshell, crits on the low poly or the design are fine but the high poly isn't intended for anything other than a visuals test.

Thanks for reading,
Bombshell

Replies

• gilesruscoe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gilesruscoe polycounter lvl 10
    Is there a reason for him being low poly? Is your engine for web/mobile? If not i think a low poly character to represent your engine would be a bad idea.

At the moment i feel that there are too many polys being wasted on the eyes, which arnt even giving a great effect. Reapplying these polys to the hands would make the model look alot better.