Home Technical Talk

Light Maps in 3Ds Max

Hey,

Im wondering how to go about creating a light map for my scene I am working on in 3ds Max.

My next question would be how do I make an instanced object have a different light map. If they were the same all over the lighting would not make sense.

I was looking at the wiki, couldn't figure it out. :(

Appreciate any help,

Ben

Replies

• polygonfreak
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is what I do...

1. Create your first uv in channel 1 (the one that will be textured.)

2. Save that uv.

3. Then set it to channel 2 and hit reset. then just hit flatten mapping.

4. Go back to channel 1 and load the first uv.

5. go into udk and check both uv's I think "0" should be your textured map and "1" should be the flattened light map.

I am still learning but this is what I figured out to work.

I don't know what the point of the second question is...
  • cman2k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cman2k polycounter lvl 17
    The first post doesn't mention UDK specifically at all.

Some clarification on what your goals are would help us guide you to the best solution.
  • Delerium
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is what I do...

1. Create your first uv in channel 1 (the one that will be textured.)

2. Save that uv.

3. Then set it to channel 2 and hit reset. then just hit flatten mapping.

4. Go back to channel 1 and load the first uv.

5. go into udk and check both uv's I think "0" should be your textured map and "1" should be the flattened light map.

I am still learning but this is what I figured out to work.

I don't know what the point of the second question is...
    No need to save and load uvs, just right click - copy - switch to second UV and right click - paste.
  • BenStrasser
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the responses,