Home Technical Talk

Bringing a mesh into shape

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Ravenok polycounter lvl 7
Hello everyone,

This forum is awesome.

I've made a mesh, and while making it I concentrated mainly on topology and less on form. I tried to copy Scott Eaton's base mesh so I can have a mesh to use while sculpting in ZBrush. I think I did fairly well, but now I'm facing a new challenge - bringing it to a perfect human shape.

I'm not sure if this step is usually done in Maya/3DSMax/XSI/Choose your own, or is it done in sculpting software like ZBrush.

I'm planning on doing it on ZBrush, but I'm new to this and would at least like to hear what more experienced users do.

Thanks!

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    I think the current trend with sculpting is to get the form down first, then worry about the topology afterwards. That said I've had times where having a nicely topologized basemesh can help quickly pump out an array of minor characters.

As for shaping the thing, it's a preference thing. Sculpting applications usually make it really easy to push and pull the verts around to get the shape you want. But if you're comfortable in a standard 3d app, there's no reason you couldn't do the work there (especially if it has some proportional falloff tools).

You may want to check the wiki out as it has several good basemeshes for download.
    http://wiki.polycount.com/BaseMesh
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey there.

If you are going to be bringing a base mesh into zbrush, I would advise you to make sure that the mesh is in pretty good shape before you start sculpting. You would essentially be polishing a turd.

Of course I'm no character artist, someone may disagree with me. Try making a post in "pimping and previews" of what you've got and see if you can get some good suggestions to get your base mesh in good shape.