Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(WIP) Old VW Van

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
DiegoTeran polycounter lvl 11
ok this is my first attempt at modeling a vehicle... wanted to do something simple at least thats what i thought lol

anyways this is where i currently stand. and im really not happy with it.

its a high poly model not intended for anything.

right of the back i kno i have some pulls on the front. one right under the 2 front windows and the other on the pointy front thingy at the bottom... not sure why but i cant seem to fix them

any advice and/or critiques are much appreciated.

VW_Old.jpg

Vanwf.jpg
Van.jpg

Replies

• B Fatz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey man it's a good start but a few things are jumping out at me -

-Headlights should be bigger
    -Bumper should be thinner
    -Wheel wells should be bigger I think
    -Bring up the bottom of the windows, they are more rectangular in the image
    -The door looks like it is too small, but if you fix the wheel wells and the windows i think this might sort itself out

The front pointy piece looks like its tacked on in yours, while in the ref its really more of a bump in the metal, not another piece. I would just get rid of it for now, focus on the rest of the vehicle and come back

I've never done a car before and I'm not positive of the proper order of things but I would block this entire thing out with simple shapes and get all the proportions correct before starting on anything too detailed.
  • Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 17