Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[STAGE] Street Fighter Alpha 2, Venezuela, Stradigos

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
mdeforge polycounter lvl 14
StreetFighterAlpha2-Venezuela(MBison).png

I'll be redoing this stage into a volcanic stage for the contest. I'll be keeping the general idea of the foreground, but burning away any grass and making the tan ground blacker (overall, think Mordor colors). For the background I'll be replacing the water in the water flalls with lava, and the lake below it with a lava lake of some sort. Not sure if it will be the bright orange lava people are framiliar with or more of a tar pit look with lava fissures. The mountain in the background will be replaced with the volcano. I'm thinking dark skies and, of course, smoke rising from the volcano.

Just got a brand new rig. After I set that up, I'll start work on the concept art. I'm a pretty shitty concept artist, but I'm always looking for opportunities to grow. Looking forward to the 3D part already! I hope to use this competition to improve my skills and get some solid feedback from the community.

Also, this is my first contest and is only my second environment. Here goes nothing! :)

Replies

• mdeforge
    Offline / Send Message
    This is my first time using a tablet, but I think I'm getting there. It's also my first true piece of concept art!

While the colors definitely aren't set in stone (pun intended), I'm definitely loving them so far. I'm having a hard time blending in the volcano to the middle ground, but I have an idea of how to do so tomorrow. I see in the reference image here that the mountain is farther off and doesn't really blend into the middle ground like I'm trying to do. So I think I'll dial the mountain back a bit in size and give a clear distinction between it and the middle ground.