Home General Discussion

Indie Vs Personal Art.

Hey PC,

I'm currently working as a 3D Artist for an indie games company, looking to improve my skills and add to my portfolio. I'm not a pro, but I have adequate skills and seem to fall into a ditch whenever I'm given a task to model or create something more difficult. Is this ditch just a learning curve or do I need to go back to the drawing board?

Going back to the drawing board would mean I create personal art and receive criticism on polycount. This would give me the confidence I need to take the next step in becoming a professional 3D Artist.

Any thoughts are welcomed.

Thanks

Replies

• whipSwitch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    whipSwitch polycounter lvl 8
    Kinda seems like you answered your own question.
  • Dan!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6
    (hah whipswitch beat me to it) It sounds like you answered your own question but, I don't see why getting critiques and being a member of a community of like-minded artists would be a bad thing. Never stop learning IMO.
  • Kevin Johnstone
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kevin Johnstone polycounter lvl 19
    You should never walk away from the drawing board, understanding that is one of those steps that helps us become a professional. Everything new is a learning curve, you just need to roll up your sleeves and try again, and again, and again.... eventually you will get it right; much much later you will get that being uncomfortable and failing is when we learn more.

It's like climbing a wall though, until you get over it, you don't really appreciate what all the grunting and groaning was about. Same principle when you start working out, that first month is just pain and boredom, but another couple of weeks and you notice your body is starting to change.

Just keep at it and accept that it takes time, lots of time.
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15