Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Zane Devon

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Sebeuroc polycounter lvl 13
Hey guys, I'm in my third year at Ferris State University and was would like some feedback on my website/portfolio. I recently updated it so that I could apply for an internship this summer. Please tear my stuff apart, I want to improve as much as I can!

zanedevon.com

I'm still working on getting the blog portion to look the same as the rest of the site. (Including adding links back to the main site.)

Thanks for looking!

Replies

• System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin
    Nice crisp portfolio design and good idea with icons that link to work on other sites. Maybe you could make those icons follow the page so that they are always seen/available?

Diffuse

You don't have to outline every single panel in rust, there's a thread on Polycount about this. It's not nice on the eyes and takes away from the overall image. Try to localise dammage in certain places that are in constant use, like doors and wing mirrors, or parts that are in a position where the elements and or terrain can do serious dammage, the bonnet, wheels etc. If you are unsure, photo references ftw.
    Also, it's noticable that you are using monotone colour while just layering rust on top. If you want rust or dammage to pop nicely you need to paint variations underneath. Darker or lighter, a different hue, maybe yellow green, yellow or other complimentary colours. If your subtle, you can have a nice looking vehicle even before you put that first spot of rust on! This also can help you plan out the dammage areas or points of interest.

Specular

If you hadn't pointed out that you were using specular I wouldn't have known. Improving your diffuse work will make this better but it seems some settings could be dodgy?

ps: only one thing jumped out at me! Muscle fibres were expected instead of breast skin.
  • Shaffer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message