Home General Discussion

Job Search Question

sublime tool
Offline / Send Message
Habboi sublime tool
Edit: I forgot to mention I finally snagged a job at beatnik games while browsing the job forums so it works out in the end.

edit: Thanks all for the feedback. Not only have I found out that I'm not alone in this matter but I've also rediscovered my drive and my goal. I know what I have to do so it's only a matter of time. Thanks again.

So like many I'm a graduate with an alright portfolio, 8 years of modding experience and some minor journalism experience and I'm wondering if it's common for studios to not reply to job applications?

I've applied to a good 30+ studios (rough estimate) and only 2 have replied. It's quite a turn off to not receive a reply, not even an automatic one.

Just wondering if this is common among anyone else? By the way I'm not so ignorant to think just becuase I have a degree means I'm entitled to jobs galore. In fact the ones that did reply want "experience", well give me the chance for experience is my initial thought.

Perhaps this is a bad time for applying since I read lots of layoffs and studios are closing etc but I just want someone to reassure me that this is a common thing and that I should just keep working on my skills and keep applying.

Sadly my father is rather disappointed because he knows I've worked long and hard and got nothing back...

Replies

• JustinPunio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quite common I'm afraid, not only because studios aren't hiring as much but compounded by all those talented guys who got laid off also after the same jobs, means it's going to be tough for new guys trying to break in.

Even worse for us UK guys I think.. keep at it I guess, keep improving and keep passionate ^^
  • jakelear
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jakelear polycounter lvl 14