Home General Discussion

Video editing career.

I'm curious at to what this career entails. Perhaps I have the wrong name for it?

Does anyone know the term for someone who goes into film via editing software like Sony Vegas Pro and adds effects, moves scenes by the directors wish and stuff like that?

I'm studying media and TV in College and I'm wondering what sort of career would cover something like editing the shots of say, for example, just because I love it, Lord of The Rings?

I'm really, really interested in Machinima aswell, basically film making in general, is there a term for the career that say, isn't all based on stuff like editing scenes from Coronation Street or something? (As that is what is probably most local or something like that for me)

Is there a career for Machinima? I know that you have Blizzard's Video Production Team who work on all the trailers basically in the same way a movie is made, via storyboards, ideas, scripting, production with WoW model viewer in this case and finishing. About editing shots from camera from a fantasy movie, what would that job title be?

Yeah, I know it's really specific but that is just a better example.

I'm working in Sony Vegas Pro 10 and I'm making short movies and stuff, tried Machinima.

I know you can get small companies like Machinima.com who are actually based upon making cool content around games for their site and Youtube channel, but of course, stuff as nice is that is based in the states...

Thanks.

Replies

• StefanH
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    StefanH polycounter lvl 12
    sounds like compositing might be your thing... its not the same as editing though. It's more like editing together multiple renderlayers and background plates, adding effects, defining the look of the film together with the director and stuff like that.
  • danshewan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danshewan polycounter lvl 8