Home General Discussion

Game industry and living in Canada

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Karmageddon polycounter lvl 7
Hopefully I'm not being too vague but I have very little experience with Canada but have been curious about moving there. I'm wondering what the quality of life is like there, cost of living, that sort of thing. Currently I'm between jobs and was thinking of applying to the neighbor up north. Insight?

Replies

• MikeF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MikeF polycounter lvl 19
    i live in toronto, do freelance for various small studios, work is fairly regular.
    i pay splits at around $1200/mo for rent with a roommate in the west end rite by ubisoft's new studio. tack on another 100$ or so every couple months for utilities.

Cant really comment on the quality of life deal since all i've ever known is ontario. Good health care, clean streets, minimal crackheads, decent pub. transit.

Toronto has a lot of smaller studios, but if you're looking for a consistent full time position then montreal might be a better choice. Rumor has it ubisoft is gonna be doing a major wave of hires around march of next year though

feel free to PM me if you have any specific questions
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    Im up here in vancouver, rent is definitely pricey, im paying 930 a month for a bachelor apartment (studio apt). going out for food can be priceyer than when I was in Montreal. its a nice city to live in though, lots to do and besides lots of rain the winters are not too harsh at all, and summers are gorgeous.

I love both vancouver and montreal, montreal for the wicked nightlife, smokin' hot women party atmoshere etc, and vancouver for the nice scenery and the fact there is so much to do like skiing/snowboarding, hiking, hitting the beach etc.