Home Technical Talk

need zbrush base mesh help

mixeh
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
mixeh polycounter lvl 8
Hi all,

I'm going to be creating a statue of a cloaked man with his arms resting in the middle, similar to how this guy in a jedi costume looks/is posed (attached).

Can anybody please offer ideas with creating a base mesh thats suitable for sculpting in zbrush. I'm pretty new to zbrush, however have watched quite a few videos on it. Using zspheres looks good only for elongated objects; and I make a pretty horrible base mesh in max. Would zsketching be an option? I'm still not familiar with it but would be wiling to learn if you guys suggested it.

Thanks very much.

JediMC3.jpg

Replies

• Revel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Revel interpolator
    I would say, using Max (or any other 3d package) is the best way to creating a base mesh as you can precisely control how the edge loop direction/ polygon distribution/ etc. then only bring into Zbrush for more detail work. But you can try to use ZSphere as a base, but chance are you gonna get a not very good poly distribution and eventually need to retopo it later on (and I think it's kinda double work for you to do).

_Revel
  • mixeh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mixeh polycounter lvl 8
    Thanks Revel, I might have to do the zsphere option, despite being double the work just as it fits more comfortably with me. The bending of the arms is what is really hard for me to model in max :(. Any other suggestions?
  • Treacharous
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would also suggest starting with Max or Maya for your base mesh. One thing I noticed with working with zspheres is that you cant get the geometry quite right. If you start in max or maya you will save your self a lot of time and frustration.
  • ghib
    Options
    Offline / Send Message