Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Squish - 3rd Person Shooter

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
S2Engine polycounter lvl 10
Hey all, first real post here on Polycount so bear with me. Been working over the past few months in spare time on a little game project that I hope to dedicate some real time to now. Seeing some win-spiring artwork in a similar vein by Minotaur0 and Adam & Virtuosic has reinvigorated my passion for the project. Fairly simple game design; it's a top-down arcade style shooter inspired by Crusader: No Remorse to SyaPed's Junkers. As an artist, I've primarily focused myself on working out a visual direction. I'm trying to come up with something distinct and interesting, and am hoping the community here can help me out with that.

Thus far I've been working with a coder friend in Unity, and we've been developing a custom shader to try to achieve a "watercolor" look, heavily influenced by Valkyria Chronicles. Here's an early test with some first assets.

squish_shadertest_v002_6.jpg
squish_shadertest_v002_4.jpg
Sorry about the aliasing. If anyone knows how to cut that down I'd be delighted to hear.

In the past few days I've been playing with the idea of changing the texturing style; up til now I've been trying out highpoly > modular ala Philip K (massive props and thanks by the way). While I like the results I'm getting, I was toying with going more of an Auto Modellista-inspired route, with simplified shading and emphasis on bold color. Eager to hear thoughts!

Replies

• Ninjas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ninjas polycounter lvl 18
    I dig it. Looks cool-- the main thing is to focus and finish the game!
  • S2Engine
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    natarajascre.jpg
    natarajahyh.jpg
    natarajasis.jpg