Home Technical Talk

help with export issue in zbrush

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
stickadtroja polycounter lvl 11
so i'm new to zbrush and for the last few days i've been sculpting my highpoly-mesh for normal map purposes. i use xNormal for this and i tried once with a unfinished highpoly, with good results.

but now that i have a somewhat more detailed mesh the normalmap that comes out looks wack. as i try to figure out why i discover that somehow the oreintation of my new highpolymesh is different from the old one. if i export everyting to maya i see that it is rotated in some weird way. and the worst part is that i can't find any way in zbrush to fix this. i checked transform;info and those numbers doens't match between the the two meshes. i tried changing it so it would be the same but that doesn't help. the only thing that improve the normal map a little bit is putting both meshes in the sameplace in the tool;preview window. but this is really frustrating since it's really hard to align it with precision and it shows on the normal map.

what should i do? it's very annoying since i can't use my newly-sculpted, awsomelooking mesh to bake a normal map.

Replies

• kodde
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kodde polycounter lvl 18
    Also curious about why this happens and how to fix it.
    Anyone?

Thanks.
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    Should only happen if you rotate the mesh in zbrush with transpose or a deformation. Would be easier to export it and just match the low-poly to it's new orientation (as long as you didn't scale it, they should still share the same bounding box?).
  • Neavah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    you have earlier iterations where it works?