Home Technical Talk

Texture res vs polycount... ?

DMRadford
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
DMRadford polycounter lvl 9
So I've been working in the animation industry for several years now but no game art until semi recently. In general animation, you add enough polys to make the model look good and you use a high enough texture resolution so the texture doesn't fall apart in terms of detail. So there's no real guidelines. Because its CPU rendered and doesn't have to happen at 60fps. Of course optimization is important, but not at the cost of quality.

So my question is: is there any sort of rule of thumb that anybody uses as far as texture resolution to tri count? IE: the LPC going on right now limits are 2k tris and a 512x512 map. Extrapolating from that would it be safe to say that a 4k model would/should use a 1024x1024 map? I know its also dependent on the size of the tri's and other factors (game engine, platform etc). I'm just looking for some sort of starting point for when I'm working without a predetermined tri/texture budget.

-David

Replies

• Racer445
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Racer445 polycounter lvl 12
    This should probably be moved to Tech Talk.

Generally it depends on how close you can get to the model and some other factors. For example, a prop you can walk right up to might be 1024, but one on the ceiling of a tall room might be 512. Screen-time is important too. A hero character or first person weapon might get a large texture like a 2048, while NPCs or third person weapons would get smaller textures. It's all situational.

Don't forget that on most modern platforms, triangles are very very cheap to use. Triangle count is only a real problem on platforms with very outdated hardware, such as the Wii, handhelds, or mobile phones.

Usually when I'm working without a budget I like to texture big so it can safely be scaled down, but working on actual size is optimal whenever you can.
  • Axios
    Options