Home Technical Talk

Issues converting Maya to Source...

Heya folks... I've been working with Maya for a while now, but this is my first time trying to compile a model for the Source engine... Specifically, I'm trying to create an item with jigglebones for TF2. The issue I'm having is that when I use Prall's exporter to compile, it gives me a .qc, a _phy.smd, and an _idle.smd, but nothing else (expecting a 'modelname.smd' as well, it doesn't show up).

Anyhow, if there's anyone out there who can help me troubleshoot the exporting issues, I'd greatly appreciate it. Also, if anyone has any helpful tips about using jigglebones, I'd be glad to hear those, too.

Replies

• Thrillho
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok, so I tried some work-arounds, and now I'm at a point where I'm supposed to load the .qc file into GUIStudioMDL 1.0 and compile it, and it tells me 'Sanity check failed! Reason: Could not find the QC file."

Anyone familiar with that lovely error? Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    so you're pointing GUIStudioMDL to the .qc file and you get that error? It probably doesn't like the way the .qc file is written or you might be trying to compile the model for the wrong version of source.

Can you post your .qc file?
  • Thrillho
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vig wrote: »
    so you're pointing GUIStudioMDL to the .qc file and you get that error? It probably doesn't like the way the .qc file is written or you might be trying to compile the model for the wrong version of source.

Can you post your .qc file?

That's all very possible... I'm also worried that I might be using the wrong version of GUIStudioMDL, since I was forced to download it from a different site than the tutorial mentioned. See, I'm kind of blindly following the tutorial since I've never tried to do anything like this before, so I'm aware that nearly anything could go wrong. Anyhow, here's the code from the .qc file: