Home General Discussion

how do you grade game art?

In a professional studio environment, What objective criteria would you use to grade a prop in a video game? Let's say it's a model of a chair, with a color texture map. If you had to assign a numbered grade to something, without using your opinion at all, how would you do it?

How do you decide that a piece of art for a game is not "good" or "fine" but "85%"?

This is a real question.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Art is subjective

/thread

If I was a teacher I'd break it down, 20% for even use of topology and good edge flow, 30% for texturing, having no bad seams, and good use of UV space, etc etc.
  • brandoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    brandoom polycounter lvl 13
    I would base it on the UV layout, geometry cleanliness, optimization, and first impression of the texture work ("Wow that looks good" or "This looks like a blurry mess of pixel").

Just my thoughts though.
  • slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    I think it comes down to 1 simple thing...

does it look good?

I dont think in games, edge flow and UV space and all that REALLY matters in the final product. as long as it looks good enough to be in the game. obviously with proper edge flow and good uv layout and all that, it will have better chances of fitting the criteria, but from what ive heard, alot of shortcuts are taken as well to make things look like they should. may not be pretty technically, but visually, they are great.
  • [HP]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [HP] polycounter lvl 13
    I hate it when people try and treat art as math... Art cannot be put into numbers.

At least not the looks of the art piece in question, obviously, if were talking technical stuff, like tri count, pixel density ratio, UVW space usage, scale, now that's a different case, and even that is pretty much down to logic: