Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Elyaradine

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Elyaradine polycounter lvl 11
So, like, I'm currently studying at a design school in South Africa. One of the reasons I was attracted to the school was that there were some entries in their student reel that blew my mind. However, I've been rather frustrated with my progress, particularly with my feeling as if I really don't have anything to show for a year and a bit of study. (Probably because, you know, I don't.)

A little while ago, I found out that the guys who made the mad entries in that student reel were actually highly active members on the GameArtistan boards. I lurk a bunch of forums, but I'm not really active on any 3D ones, and I figure that being active counts way more than getting a bunch of secondary knowledge.

So yeah. Here's hoping my being a more regular member of polycount (whose wiki, while still a work in progress, has been enormously useful - thanks!) - primarily during my holidays, starting in two weeks' time - helps me improve faster. And, therefore, I welcome all critique. Of all and any kind. I don't care much for how you give it either: I don't take things personally. Just get me to learn more, faster! ;)

--
An old arch viz piece I did in first year:
2sbwdw8.jpg

--
Illustration for the school magazine:
2labn1c.jpg

--
Current work for one of my subjects:
25kjzgi.jpg

At the moment, he looks more like a man in a suit. :p And the face is very uncomfortable.

This weekend I'll be repainting him, starting from a skeletal structure, then adding some muscular forms, finishing up with the skin and scales, and all the while exaggerating some of his forms.

--