Home Technical Talk

3dsMax single axis Orientation Constraint?

Bal
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Bal polycounter lvl 17
Hi, quick (probably noob-ish) question :
I'm pretty comfortable with rigging in Maya, but I'm trying to learn how to do it in Max (mostly just to know that I can), and at the moment I feel like a complete noob.
Is it possible to have an Orientation Constraint that only applies on a single axis? I've looked around online quite a bit already, but just can't seem to find a straight answer / simple solution.

Replies

• SyncViewS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SyncViewS polycounter lvl 13
    Hi Bal,
    I'm not an animation expert, but I think you can easily achieve this by using Parameters Wiring, and linking the source single axis parameter to the target object axis parameter. Remember to Freeze Transforms to zero before doing any actual rigging.

Another way, is to use a Script Controller on the single target axis pointing to the source object axis value. In the Script Controller, you should write something like (for X axis):
    -degToRad(source.rotation as EulerAngles).x

Where "source" is the variable holding the source node.
  • Bal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bal polycounter lvl 17
    Thanks SyncViewS, that helps!
    Still feels like it's taking me ages to figure out what takes me 5 minutes to set up in Maya, mgah.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    I'm pretty sure there's also a simple Rotation Constraint controller with checkboxes for enabling/disabling axes. You can assign these from the Animation (iirc) menu, and update/adjust them in the Motion tab.
  • Piflik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Piflik polycounter lvl 12