Home Technical Talk

Multiple Dummies, Linking, and Rotating Problems: 3ds Max

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
BradMyers82 interpolator
I have a client who is using the unity game engine and needs me to setup a hierarchy in a certain manner for a gun in a FPS style game.
This is a simplified example, but hopefully my problem with the stretching of the blue box is clear.

I'm pretty new to the animation/rigging side of things, and I'm having a lot of problems coming up with a solution for this.

Please see the image for a explanation of my problem:
IM_A_DUMMY.jpg

I originally thought it was an issue with scaling the dummies, but I tried reset xform in every possible way I could think of, and it still didn't help. Plus, when I unlink as in Example D. things work properly, only, I no longer have the control I need as seen in example B.

There has to be a simple solution, but Man is this frustrating!

If anyone has a solution, I would Greatly Appreciate it.

Replies

• SyncViewS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SyncViewS polycounter lvl 13
    Hi Brad, I'm quite sure, as you said the problem is with the Dummy scaling, as scale factor is inherited by the child, leading to the distortions. In my experience NEVER scale anything related to animation, it always leads to problems. How did you reset the XForm of the Dummy? It gets reverted to a cube when you do it, so the ones you show aren't reset. Resetting the Box has no effect, because it is not the one scaled.

If you absolutely need to create a suitable cage for your geometry, use splines and ALWAYS transform them, like scaling, moving, rotating, at sub-object level, to preserve the node matrix (made of othogonal normal vectors). Once you have the cage you like, link it.

To get a cage like a Dummy in a few steps:
    1. create a Box
    2. convert to Editable Poly
    3. in sub-level edge, select all edges
    4. in command panel, under "Edit Edges" choose "Create Shape From Selection"