Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Diablo 3 Female Monk WiP

Millah
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Millah polycounter lvl 18
Hey all. I'm a vehicle/weapon artist by day, but I've been working on something else by night. I thought it would be fun to take the concepts on Blizzards site ( <3 diablo!) and come up with what I think the female version could look like while also learning a bunch of character art pipeline stuff.. I also wanted to learn Zbrush in the process. :) It's been many evenings of study and work thus far, but I think I'm nearing completion for this piece for now. It still needs texture polish and the pose/rig job so far is extremely rough (especially hands). I've gotten a ton of feedback from colleagues, friends, etc. thus far and I think it's about time I put this out there for the best 3d art community there is to get some really great crits ;) Go wild guys and gals.

1024x1024 x 3 - 1spec, 1normal, and 1diffuse(with alpha) (all diffuse is 100% hand painted. No photosourcing (I say this because I've had people ask about the cloak especially)
8,722 tri's (jeesh this is too much)

jm_monk03.jpg

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    The cloak looks really low rez, I'd try to repeat the hair and do what ever you can to give the clock more uv space.

The front bangs of the hair looks like its having issues.
  • c0ldhands
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    c0ldhands polycounter lvl 15
    I agree with ZacD, he points out the same things that jumped into my eyes too. I would say some alphas for the front bangs
  • Gallows
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gallows polycounter lvl 9
    There's nothing wrong with the hair model itself to me, but I'd love to see her with dreadlocks. Also superb work other than what's already pointed out. Quite a bit of tri's but there's a lot going on with this model. And you balanced it enough to keep it without seeming messy.
  • Millah
    Options