Home General Discussion

Need Advice

Del
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Del polycounter lvl 9
~ I'm still in my final year of study at university; but I have had a pair of possible job offers. Both of which are in north america, although I'd rather finish my degree instead of take a job right now but I don't graduate until next year summer.

I don't really want to just reply to both offers with a simple "nah, im not really interested right now", and one of the studios is asking me to do a phone interview and possible follow up art test.

What would be the best way to handle this and keep my relationship cool with them. I'm not exactly god's gift to game art and I'm worried that if i turn down the offers I could be burning bridges for the future, which I might depend on...

thanks for any advice in advance.

Replies

• Canadian Ink
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Canadian Ink polycounter lvl 12
    If either of them are legit and decent offers then you would be an idiot to turn them down, especially in the current job climate. And if you tell a studio that you aren't really interested in there offer, I wouldn't expect to ever hear from them again. With so many people looking for work in the industry you might as well be telling them to go F themselves....Give your head a good shake mate.
  • killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
    Hi Dreamer,
    Usually, I'd say go for the job. But since you've invested so much time already, you should get the degree. It could pay off in your future. I think you should explain the situation how it is, honesty is the best policy. Explain that you'd like to finish your degree before taking a job, simple as that. Be sure to express your interest in an art test and interviewing when you graduate next year.

-kp
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master