Home Technical Talk

Modeling and texturing for games.

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
crasong polycounter lvl 13
So I'm new to texturing, all i know is modeling, and even then I'm not familiar with modeling for games.

So here's what I think I know(after as much reading from google as possible).

1.Modeling should be kept in quads or tris.

2.Texture maps should fit everything or as much as possible(in relation to characters)

And what I've been doing is modeling most things in one mesh(bad habit?), and my knowledge in unwrapping is still basic at best.

What I'm asking is for examples of good and bad texture maps, what constitutes tidy mapping, and pretty much the do's and dont's.

Thanks in advance.:)

Replies

• Ark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ark polycounter lvl 11
    1. Everything gets triangulated at runtime if you manually tessellate it or not.

2. Yes, the more you can fit on a texture sheet the better, unless your compromising the quality.
    Less texture sheets = less draw calls.

I tend to model things as they are in real life. If they have plenty of separate pieces in real life, then thats what i try to mirror when modeling, unless i can optimize by merging the meshes, then thats what i normally do.

If you talking about modular enviroments then it's obvious your gonna be breaking up the scene into many smaller pieces.
    Characters i would presume are the same that they get broken up into things like body, clothes and weapons. Maybe someone can comment on the character stuff?

Unwrapping is still probably the most enjoyable part of game dev.

Id say a god UV map consists of maximizing you UV shells and making sure there is less wasted UV space as possible and minimal stretching.
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    do's:
    1. try to hide UV-seams (i.e hard edges, convex corners, hidden spots,...)