Home Technical Talk

MaxScript Issues (arrays?)

I'm trying to write some simple UV tools, but I'm running up against some oddities with arrays. I'm no MaxScript expert, so I'm probably doing something wrong somewhere.

I'd started off with trying to find out the UV coords of the selected vertices in the Edit window of an Unwrap UVW modifier. The code is;
selVerts = $.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap.getSelectedVertices()
numVerts = selVerts.count

for i = 1 to numVerts do (
	vertPos = $.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap.getVertexPosition currenttime selVerts[i]

[...there's other stuff here, but the script's breaks at the above line...]

)

And the results I get in the Maxscript listener don't seem to make sense;

selVerts gets the correct array of vertex IDs. So far I've just been selecting 2 verts, so I get 2 values in an array.

numVerts gives out the number of UV vertices there are in total, not the number of entries in my array (currently I'm just using a cube so it endsup being 24).

selVerts just ends up false and then the script dies.

Any ideas as to what's going on?

Replies

• Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aha, nevermind. Googled the answer by accident. It appears I needed "as array" at the end of the first line, so;

selVerts = $.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap.getSelectedVertices() as array

Feel free to delete this thread, sorry :P
  • jerry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok i figured it out.

The behaviour you get is correct. The function getSelectedVertices() returns a bitarray. This means a bit can be turned "on" or "off", 1 or 0, true or false.

The documentation says this:
    BitArray Values
    Operators
    <bitarray>[<integer>]
    Yields true if selected, else false

You will have to search another function or figure out how to make it work with this setup, i can't help you there because i haven't written any unwrap scripts.